How To Set-up & Change Permissions in Google Analytics

To grant access to your Google Analytics account, sign in and go to “Admin” in the bottle left hand corner. Under account, click “Account User Management”. Click the Plus Sign ”+”, then “Add Users”. Enter the new user email address and pick the permission level. (Screen shots below permission level details.)

Permission Levels & Explanation

Permission

Explanation 

Manager Users

Can manage account users (add/delete users, assign any permissions). Can grant full permissions to any user, including themselves, for any account, property, or view for which they have this permission. 

Note: Does not include Edit or Collaborate.

Edit

Can perform administrative and report-related functions (e.g., add/edit/delete accounts, properties, views, filters, goals, Channel Grouping, etc., but not manage users), and see report data.

 

Edit permission is required at the account level to create filters. Edit permission is required at the view level to apply filters.

 

Note: Includes Collaborate.

Collaborate

Can create, edit, delete, and share personal assets. Can collaborate on shared assets. 

 

Shared assets include:

Note: Includes Read & Analyze.

Read & Analyze

Can see report and configuration data; can manipulate data within reports (e.g., filter a table, add a secondary dimension, create a segment); can create personal assets, and share them, and see shared assets. Cannot collaborate on shared assets.

Note: Parent permissions are inherited by default (account > property > view). For example, when you set permissions for a user at the account level, that user then has those same permissions for all the properties and views in that account.

See Screen Shots For Further Clarification

Screen shot of google analytics and how to add a new user